< Back to Latest News

Te Herenga Waka Festival - Mon 11 Feb - Sun 26 Feb

20th January, 2017

Te Herenga Waka Festival - Mon 11 Feb - Sun 26 Feb

A Kahungunu-led initiative supported by Te Matatini

Mon 11 Feb - Sun 26 Feb

 

Voyaging canoes from New Zealand and nations across the Pacific will travel back in time celebrating the glitz and glamour of the 1930s in New Zealand’s Art Deco Capital of Napier. Over 40,000 people flock from all over the world into Napier to enjoy over 120 activities at the Tremains Art Deco Festival 2017.  
A pageant will be held as part of the waka festival which will include cultural performances and conclude with a floating water lantern ceremony.
When: Tuesday 11 - Sunday 26 February 2017
Where: West Quay, Foreshore, Ahuriri, Napier

Waka Welcome Ceremony
When:Sunday 12 February
Where: Ahuriri Napier

Waka History by ‘living treasure’ waka builder Hekenuku Busby
When: Monday 13 February
Where: Matahiwi Marae, Lawn Road, Clive

Waka Navigation by Jack Thatcher
When: Tuesday 14 February
Where: Ahuriri, Napier

Waka Healthy and Sustainable kai for voyages by Greta Carney
When: Wednesday 15 February
Where: Napier Sailing Club, Ahuriri, Napier

Waka Hourua Regatta
When: Thursday 16 February
Where: Pacific Ocean, Foreshore, Harding Road, Ahuriri, Napier

Waka Art Deco Sailings
When: Friday 18 February, Saturday 19 February
Where: West Quay, Ahuriri, Napier

Waka Ama Races
When: Saturday 18 February
Where: Pacific Ocean, Foreshore, Harding Road, Ahuriri, Napier

Kahungunu Water-Borne Show
When: Sunday 19 February
Where: Lagoon, Napier Sailing Club, Pandora Road, Ahuriri, Napier

< Back to Latest News